Half Way Through Training! Weeeeeeee!!!

I made it to week 8 and still getting my miles in. I’m very impressed with (and a bit surprised by) the 16 week training plan I’m following. 😀 Every week, I fret the Saturday long run but every Saturday, I’m able to complete it. It’s the weirdest thing, during the run, I feel confident that I can finish. This feeling is totally new for me.

Other than trying to beat the crazy hot temperatures, my 6th week of training went smoothly. 7 miles ended up not being as bad as I thought it would be. It helps that I got out the door by 7:00am. It was getting plenty hot by the end of my run though. Sunday was 3 short miles. I’ll try to post the photos in chronological order but bear with my bad memory. No promises.

Saturday, 6/28/15:

Slow 3 miler on Sunday.

Slow 3 miler on Sunday.

Week 7 included a lot of swapping days and early runs just to find some relief from the sun. Tuesday’s 6 mile run got pushed to Wednesday morning. My alarm went off at 3:20am. I had a piece of toast with peanut butter and a cup of coffee. Got out the door at 4:04am. Yikes, who stole my brain and replaced it with a crazy person’s?!?! It was really dark and sketchy for the first 30 minutes. I’m sure I looked like a loon running with high knees. I was afraid of tripping on a crack in the sidewalk so my form was wacky. hahaha Good thing it was dark and NOBODY was up and about. As I was finishing my 2nd three mile loop, I saw what looked like a white plastic bag on the side of the road. As I got closer, the bag turned and looked at me. HOLY MOLY! I jumped back a bit but kept running. It was a white cat just hanging out. LOL I almost stopped to pet it because he/she was eyeing me longingly. Cute little stinker!

Wednesday, 7/1/15:

Way too early but gotta beat the heat.

Way too early but gotta beat the heat.

On Thursday, my office building had a “Tenant Appreciation Day”. FREE BBQ!!! WAHOOO!!! I’m all about the food and if it’s free, what more could you ask for?

 

I felt like I was back at Royal Fork again...ah, the memories.

This is how I maintain my rock hard abs.

Thursday’s run got pushed to Friday morning. LOL I figured, since I had a long weekend, might as well wake up early and run.

Friday, 7/3/15:

IMG_8148

Not the most patriotic of running outfits but my shirt is blue. Pink bra is close enough to red, right?

Not the most patriotic of running outfits but my hat is white and my shirt is blue. Pink bra is close enough to red, right?

Temperatures still in the low 90s. UGH. When will we get back to our normal of low 70s??? Stink!

More cold noodles for this oppressive heat.

More cold noodles for this oppressive heat.

Which leads me to my 8 mile run. I started out at 6am and ran a route Jon suggested. It was incredible! I got to see Mt. Rainier in the morning sun. She’s a true beauty! Saw lots of rabbits, a few cats, a couple friendly dogs and a squirrel. I also said, “Hello, crow!” to every crow I came across. Have I mentioned I’m an animal lover, crazy dog lady? I passed by a blueberry farm and a little public fishing lake. Who knew all of this was in my neighborhood? At the end of my run, I was feeling pretty tired but really happy. I wasn’t as emotional as I thought I would be. I guess I built it up too much in my head. It was anticlimactic but I’ll take it. Every mile closer to 13.1 make me a happy runner! Oh, I almost forgot to mention…I got a hydration belt at Road Runner Sports. Tried it out and it worked pretty well. My only beef is the belt doesn’t stay tightened up. I kept having to tighten the straps every so often. I’m going to try and mess with it to rig up something that will keep the straps tight. I love the bottle portion (Camelback Podium Chill). It kept my water cool throughout the run.

Saturday, 7/4/15:

8 MILES! Put it on yo calendar! :D

8 MILES! Put it on yo calendar! 

New Road Runner Sports Delaney hydration belt made by Camelback.

New Road Runner Sports Delaney hydration belt made by Camelback.

My old laptop bit the dust last week so I scheduled an appointment at Apple. They had it working in an hour and it was a cheap fix! So stoked to have a working laptop again.

Thanks Genius Bar!

Thanks Genius Bar!

I enjoyed Sunday’s 2 mile recovery run. Mostly because it was short.

Sunday's OOTD: Super bright Lululemon Var-city tank.

Sunday’s OOTD: Super bright Lululemon Var-city tank.

My new buddy. This cat came running up to me at the end of my run. What a cutie.

My new kitty pal.

My new kitty pal.

Well, that’s it for this too long post. Until next week (or later), thanks for reading!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

