+80 Degrees In The Pacific Northwest. Just No.

Won’t somebody, please, turn down the heat? I’m really trying to stick to my training plan but 88 degrees fahrenheit (31 celsius for my Canadian friends – I had to Google it because I’m metric system challenged) is too hot to run in! Seriously! I just can’t. I skipped my planned 5 mile run today. It’s just too hot and I’m not feeling 100%. Still have a nagging sore throat that’s causing some ear pain. Bummer.

The past week and a half of training has been pretty good WHEN my body is cooperating. I wasn’t feeling well last Thursday, skipped my run and went to bed at 7:00pm. So weird. I wasn’t very confident that I’d be able to run the full 7 miles on Saturday. Self-sabotage? Maybe. I knew it would be warm so I tried to get an early start. I still haven’t found a hydration belt that suits my needs. It’s hard finding a belt that can accommodate an iPhone6. Blah! I decided to give Jon’s Ultimate Direction Jurek Endure another try. Instead of using both bottles, I tried using just one. It bounced and shifted a bit at first, especially on downhills but it eventually settled. I like to wear belts slung low on my hips otherwise they shimmy up to my ribs. I’m still not sold. I think I need a little more stretch in the waist strap.

Saturday, 6/20/15: 7 miles (1:29:33)

Ultimate Direction Jurek Endure water belt.

Ultimate Direction Jurek Endure water belt.

The good news is I ran the entire 7 miles! Wheeeeeeee! 😀 It was slow but I did it. Gave me an awesome confidence boost. On Sunday morning, Jon and I went to the Interurban Trail. I was to run 2 or 3 miles. I opted for 3 since I didn’t run on Thursday.

Sunday, 6/21/15: 3 miles

Sub 11 minute miles! WOOT!

Sub 11 minute miles! WOOT!

Yet another poorly taken selfie.

Yet another poorly taken selfie. OOTD: Lululemon vintage pink 105f Singlet and tall Groove Shorts.

And since Sunday morning’s run went so well at the trail, Jon and I had the genius idea to go back there on Tuesday. Major difference being it was 5:00pm and 81 degrees. No shade, no breeze. Lots of sun, lots of heat. Needless to say, I was using colorful language throughout the bulk of my run. I did a 5 mile out and back. At the turn around point, some young gentleman (I’m using the word loosely here…) was yelling at everyone who passed him. Handing out free advice. He asked Jon why he wasn’t riding a bike and that he should be on a bike rather than running. Oooh-kayyy. This is how I know God works in mysterious ways. I was so incredibly hot and tired at that point but I wasn’t about to deal with this guy and let him catch up to me. So I tagged the halfway point, turned around and kept running. I wanted to stop so badly but I was just a little creeped out. LOL I guess He thought I needed a little extra motivation. 😉

Tuesday, 6/23/15: 5 miles (1:01:48)

Quick pre-run photo before I knew what I was in for.

Quick pre-run photo before I knew what I was in for.

This is never a good sign. But then again, Jon could have pushed me down the trail in it.

This is never a good sign. But then again, Jon could have pushed me down the trail in it.

At the start of 5 miles.

Looking happy at the start of 5 miles.

This Saturday is 7 miles again. Wish me luck. Ha! Next Saturday is the exciting “MOMENT OF TRUTH”. 8 miles. Will I be able to do it?!?! <insert dramatic marmot here> *dun dun dun* Until next time, thanks for reading!

Bonus Boo pic. He was sooo tired after a full day of The Doggie Den. hahaha

Bonus Boo pic. He was sooo tired after a full day of The Doggie Den. He barely fits on that seat. lol

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

