The Fourth Week

…of half marathon training, that is. So far, so good. In the past, there was no such thing as “training” for me. I would run a few miles, here and there, then expect to run a half marathon without walking. Um yeah, it doesn’t work that way. Not for me, anyhow. LOL I’m determined to change my habits this time around. I’ve just started my 4th week and feeling pretty good.

Thursday, 5/28/15: 2.1 miles

Calm before the storm.

Calm before the storm.

The weather has been warming up day by day. By Tuesday, it was in the low 80s. Running in heat is my kryptonite. I was supposed to run 3 miles but I quit after 2.1. Sad. I’m wearing dayglo orange for visibility. I almost got hit by a car on Tuesday so it’s bright colors from now on. Eeep!

Saturday, 5/30/15: 5 miles

I forgot to stop my watch at 5 miles flat. LOL My time was 1:01:09.

I forgot to stop my watch at 5 miles flat. LOL My time was 1:01:09.

Sunday, 5/31/15: 3 miles

Before my 3 mile run.

I think I need to rotate my running tops a little more.

Jon is on the hunt for some better running shirts. Lululemon’s Metal Vent Tech tees are great for shorter runs but they get waterlogged and heavy for anything longer than 6 miles. Any ideas? What is your favorite running top? We went to Road Runner Sports to see what they had. Jon didn’t find a shirt but he surprised me with a Garmin 220. I’ve been wanting a new GPS watch for a while. My old watch was starting to get glitchy. Plus, it felt like I was wearing an anvil on my wrist. LOL

I took my new watch out for a spin on Tuesday. Ran 4 miles but didn’t get any photos because senile. I love the watch! It’s light weight and tracks your splits automatically! No more stalking my watch to push the stupid lap button! Wooohooo! Welcome to 2015, Michelle!

Thursday, 6/4/15: 4 miles

Lululemon Not So Basic Gym tee and Run: Chase Me crops.

Thursday’s OOTD: Lululemon Not So Basic Gym tee and Run: Chase Me crops.

Saturday and Sunday were WAY too hot. WAY.

Saturday, 6/6/15: 6 miles

After my 6 miler. I was happy, hot and tired!

After my 6 miler. I was happy, hot and tired!

Saturday's stats.

Saturday’s stats.

Saturday’s run was a big deal for me. I haven’t run 6 miles without stopping/walking in years. If I remember correctly, the last time was at the 2008 Iron Girl 10K. I wasn’t sure that I could pull it off but I kept telling myself to think positive. I tried to get an early start to beat the heat. 8:40am isn’t very early but I kept smashing that snooze button. I felt good for most of my run. It was hot but there was a slight breeze to keep things sane. My run ended near my mother-in-law’s house. I met Jon there and cooled off in mom’s beautiful back yard. I was very thankful for a cool bench, a little shade and ice cold water with a tri-berry GU Hydration drink tablet.

Sunday’s 3 miler felt hard. I started out at 8am but it felt even warmer than the day before. Why am I such a wimp when it comes to heat?

Sunday's run stats.

Sunday’s stats.

Mom to the rescue! She took me out to Palace Bar and Grill in Federal Way for ice cold naeng myun. This was the perfect meal for a 90 degree day. After lunch, we stopped at H-Mart for some groceries. I picked up some goldfish shaped ice cream sandwiches. They come in a few different flavors like strawberry, sweet red bean paste (azuki beans) and plain vanilla. The outside layer is made of a thin wafer and filled with vanilla ice cream. I got red bean and it was delicious! Reminds me of the shave ice with ice cream and azuki beans I had in Oahu. YUM! 😛

Mul naeng myun at Palace Bar and Grill

Mul naeng myun at Palace Bar and Grill.

 

Samanco red bean ice cream sandwich

Samanco red bean ice cream sandwich. NOM

Boo, our Schnoodle, had his buddy Lickity over to play. A cat caught Boo’s attention but Lickity is too short to look out the screen door. Problem solved.

Short pup problems.

Short pup problems.

That’s about all the rambling and awkwardness I have for now. Until next time, thanks for reading! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

