Annette Lake Hike

Heyyyy! I’m back after another long silence. Ooof! We got out for a family hike this past Saturday. Back up to Annette Lake where my old hiking boots had a complete failure last year. LOL Boo doesn’t quite know what to make of me.

Que?

Que?

We picked the perfect day for a hike. It started out chilly but warmed up to almost 80 degrees. Annette Lake gets really crowded later in the morning but we avoided the nuttiness by getting to the parking area by 7:30am. The hike took us about 4 hours roundtrip (7.5 miles total).

Almost to the trailhead.

Almost to the trailhead.

I knew it would be a tough hike for me. I hadn’t run or hiked for months. Wayyyy out of shape. *huff puff* There’s a bridge, not too far into the hike, where you can stop and watch a beautiful waterfall. This never gets old.

IMG_7205

The first mile wasn’t too difficult but the 2nd and 3rd mile were brutal, in my opinion. Some steep, rocky parts with lots tree roots to trip over. Being a major clutz, I had to really watch my footing. At one point, I could hear my heartbeat in my ears. That’s mostly due to how out of shape I am. LOL Gotta get back to running! Jon breezed up the trail, no problem. He’s been sticking to his hilly training runs. Why can’t I be so disciplined? *sigh*

This hike was pretty easy for Jon. I guess that's the case when you're in shape!

This hike was pretty easy for Jon. I guess that’s the case when you’re in shape!

This looked way steeper in real life.

This looked way steeper in real life. WAY.

Looks like The Shire.

Looks like The Shire.

The quiet is what struck me. When I stopped to catch my breath (this happened more than I’d like to admit) the only sounds were birds singing. Truly amazing to get away from “noise”. Super calming. We reached the lake at about 10:00am where we had our PB&J. Boo got to enjoy his first ever hiking meal. 😀

Almost to the lake.

Almost to the lake.

Made it!

Made it!

IMG_7237

Clear blue water

Clear blue water

Heading back down the trail seemed MUCH easier than the way up. The trail is a bit deceiving. The first 3 miles is up, up, up with very few downs. The last half mile to the lake is mostly down. So the entire downhill portion, you’re thinking to yourself, “Uhh, we have to go back UP this when we’re heading out.” LOL

Kind of scary but really cool.

Kind of scary but really cool.

IMG_7226IMG_7242

IMG_7206

Wouldn’t be a proper blog without my usual “creepy selfie”. I’m going to make that a “thing”. Or not. I’m starting a 16 week training plan next Monday. My goal for both the Lululemon SeaWheeze Half Marathon and the 2015 Kauai Half Marathon is to run the entire course without walking and/or finish under 3 hours. It’s doable but I know I need to invest the time and effort for it to happen. Until next time, thanks for reading! And if you’re not completely bored yet, here’s a link to Jon’s GoPro video of our hike. 🙂

Trader Joe's Shortcake Biscuit with coffee

Trader Joe’s Shortcake Biscuit with coffee

I had to post about my instagram photo. About a week ago, Yvette Nicole Brown posted a pic of these Trader Joe’s Shortcake Biscuits and mentioned how delicious they were. Well, of course, I had to try them. Carbs, duh! I posted my pic to IG on Saturday morning and tagged her. SHE REPLIED! WEEEEEEEE!!! I was soooo stoked. 😀 I just love her commentary on The Talking Dead. She seems to be a true TWD fan and her enthusiasm over the show and characters has made me a fan of hers. Anyhow, that’s my “sharing is caring” minute. The end.

Leave a Reply

