Kauai Half Marathon Expo

Annnnnd I’m back! Our flight landed at 9:30pm last night and my brain is still on island time. The last 11 days zipped by but it feels like an eternity since I ran the half marathon on 8/31/14! LOL I’m attempting to post the photos in chronological order but that’s based on my spotty memory. haha

Breakfast at SeaTac Airport

Breakfast at SeaTac Airport

We took a cab to the airport at around 6:30am. Breakfast on the plane was surprisingly good. I had ham and pineapple quiche made with a pot pie type crust. OMG, it was so good! Jon got the teriyaki chicken patty over a biscuit with scrambled eggs and sweet potatoes.

Ham and pineapple quiche

IMG_4319

I made sure to pick up a bag of my FAVORITE travel treats. I only buy these when I’m flying. Odd. 😀

IMG_4322

This time of year, Kauai is 3 hours behind Pacific Daylight Time so we arrived around noon. I love it when you gain time. 🙂 It felt so good to be sitting near the pool at Koa Kea again.

Koa Kea Pool Bar - a perfect spot to watch the waves

Koa Kea Pool Bar – a perfect spot to watch the waves

We took a quick walk up to Whalers General Store to pick up some water and snacks. If you stay in Poipu, this convenience store is, well, convenient. Derp. They also have a good variety of souvenirs and treats which make great gifts. I had to pick up some Chocolate Toffee mac nuts, of course. If you haven’t tried these, go find them! You’re welcome. 😛

On Saturday (August 30th), we had breakfast at Red Salt (included in our room package) and then went to pick up our race packets at the marathon Expo. The Expo was held at the Grand Hyatt Kauai. It’s a beautifully landscaped property with lots of fancy schmancy birds lurking about. I might have had more fun talking to the birds than at the Expo. Almost. haha

Black swan (or is it?) and koi fish at Grand Hyatt Kauai

Black swan (or is it?) and koi fish at Grand Hyatt Kauai

Talking to Rico the green-winged macaw

Talking to Rico, the green-winged macaw

Duke, the blue and gold macaw

Duke, the blue and gold macaw

Jon on the schnauzer bench

Jon on the schnauzer bench

Kauai Coffee Company was giving out free samples of coffee. Iced Mocha? Yes, please!

Mmmmm, iced coffee...

Mmmmm, iced coffee…

OK, I apologize for what you’re about to see. This pic is downright creepy but I was trying to get a photo of my big head with the official Kauai Marathon merchandise section. Fail.

Try to ignore my face. The goods are in the background.

Try to ignore my face. The goods are in the background.

Jon and I got to chat a bit with Bart Yasso. Wow, really nice guy! He offered excellent advice and some insight on the half marathon course.

Bart Yasso!

Bart Yasso!

Since this post is so long, I’ll post the actual half marathon recap in a separate post. Stay tuned. Thanks for reading!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

