Wow! Only 27 days to go!

Yikes! Has it really been 15 days since I’ve posted??? I’m such a slacker. But I didn’t have much to blog about since I didn’t get out for any training runs. Yep, another half marathon without proper training. But I’m still going into it with the goal to finish. I’m looking forward to the sights, sounds and smells! I’m so excited for this half marathon! It’s creeping up so quickly! I’m stoked to meet Bart Yasso and Dean Karnazes at the expo/packet pick-up. I’ve also heard they’re hosting a shakeout run the morning before the event. Weeeeeee!!!

For the past two weeks, I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather. I thought I might be battling a cold but I never felt fully “sick”. Hmmmm, allergies maybe? I just couldn’t kick it. Which might be why I didn’t feel so great yesterday morning when my husband and I decided to run a local 5k/10k. I signed up for the 10k so I could add a bit of mileage to my (non-existent) training. Jon ran the 5k. My mind and body were all over the place! My stomach was jittery before the start but once we got going, I felt good. I was feeling strong and optimistic. My first mile was 10:13 which is pretty fast for me. Mile two was about 12:00. Then, at the 2.5 mile mark, the wheels fell off the bus. I had to stop running because my bladder was full. Seriously?!?! Not a honey bucket in sight. So I just kept walking. After the first 5k loop, I seriously considered calling it a day. I thought I had my mind made up when the volunteer at the 5k/10k turn off, gave me some encouragement. I couldn’t quit now, right? So I completed the 2nd loop…walking. I tried to speed up to a jog, here and there, but my bladder wasn’t having it. LOL So miles 3-5 were ugly. I have no idea what my splits were because my GPS watch is old and I kept forgetting to push the stupid “lap” button after each mile. I was busy day dreaming about porta potties. My last mile was about 14:10. I was able to shuffle a bit. I’m guessing that my profuse sweating was drying me out a bit. Ugh

The calm before the storm. On our way to drop Boo off at grandma's.

The calm before the storm. On our way to drop Boo off at grandma’s. This is before he got groomed.

On our way to the starting line. My stomach was just starting to misbehave.

On our way to the starting line. My stomach was just starting to misbehave.

2nd time around. The high power lines were crackling away. Can this be safe?!?! :D

2nd time around. The high power lines were crackling away. Can this possibly be safe?!?! 😀

Just finished. Still no honey buckets.

Just finished. Still Honey Bucketless.

After the run, we had to hustle it back to mom’s to pick up Boo and get him to his grooming appointment. We thought he’d be able to sleep more comfortably if his fur was sheared short. It’s been uncharacteristically hot for this area. Ick.

Boo's "After" (see his "Before" above).

Boo’s “After” (see his “Before” above).

We’ve had some amazing sunsets and cloud formations the past week.

I loved the rays coming off the puffy little clouds.

I loved the rays coming off the puffy little clouds.

Pink and blue leopard clouds.

Pink and blue leopard clouds.

And just to add to the silliness. I asked Jon to take some photos of me and Boo after his haircut. Jon thought it would be funny to hold down the shutter and keep taking photos. I had to use Jedi mind tricks to retrieve my iPhone.

Yes, the bobby pin enhances the force.

Yes, the bobby pin enhances the force.

Just kidding. I was just reaching for my phone and he caught this scary pic of me. LOL I was a couch potato the remainder of the day.

See, I don't *always* scowl.

See. Proof that I don’t *always* scowl.

I have no idea when I’ll get out for another run. I’ve found that if I plan it, it doesn’t happen. *sigh* I’m aiming for sooner rather than later but I’m just going to leave it loosey goosey because that’s how I roll. See y’all later. 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

