42 Eyes of Blue

I realize that blog title makes no sense but I’m loving that “Five Foot Two, Eyes of Blue” song lately. It reminds me of my husband’s grandmother, Lucile, who my husband fondly remembers dancing the Charleston when he was wee. She was born in 1912 and passed in 2011. She was one of the smartest, spunkiest, sharpest women I have ever met. I miss her. I loved that she loved dogs as much as I do. She also loved being active, biking, running, walking, dancing. I kind of went off on a tangent, didn’t I?

I was lacking motivation and avoided running all week. My husband and I got up at 5:00am this morning and ran a local 8k. At 8:00am, the weather was an amazing 63° with a nice, cool wind. The wind must’ve been blowing in just the right direction because I didn’t feel like it was creating a headwind. Here are a couple pictures before the start.

The course winds around Capital Lake. So beautiful!

The course winds around Capital Lake. So beautiful!

Selfies allllll day.

Selfies allllll day.

My friend who motivates (read: forces) me to stay active.

My friend who motivates (read: forces) me to finish what I start.

The course is so pretty. You start in front of a park set up with carnival rides. You run along a trail beside the lake which is teeming with geese (swans? derp) and ducks. ❤ The final 3/4 of a mile takes you over a boardwalk to a gravel path and back to the finish line. My goal was to finish in under one hour. My chip time was 58:41. WOOT! So I averaged an 11:48 mile which is a snail’s pace but I’m so happy with it. 😀

After I crossed the finish line. Friend ran it in 44:49!

After I crossed the finish line. Friend ran it in 44:49!

Forgot to stop my watch at the finish.

Forgot to stop my watch at the finish. That’s my SPI belt on the right. I love that thing!

Since we knew we’d have an early start and be out most of the day, we boarded Boo at his doggie daycare Friday night. After the run, we ran some errands at the mall and I witnessed, with my own eyes, that Lululemon is coming to Tukwila (pronounced tuck-will-uh, LOL)! It’s set to open in November. ZOMG! Eeeeeeep!

Dorking out at the future Lululemon

Dorking out at the future Lululemon. I’m wearing my most awesome The Walking Dead Emerald City Comic Con tee. LOVE!

Afterwards, we went to pick up our dog. I think he had too much fun with his 7 puppy pals. He’s pooped. We love his daycare, they let the pups run around. Not a kennel in sight! He plays ALL DAY LONG. LOL

So. Sleepy.

So. Sleepy.

But, as usual, he perked up when the yoga mat was unrolled. He wouldn’t let Jon roll it back up. hahaha What a nut!

Boo: "Can I finish my cobra pose?"

Boo: “Can I finish my cobra pose?”

That’s enough silliness for one post. My nutrition has been pretty good. I’ve been sticking to my “less snacking” plan and my total weight loss since the beginning of June is 6 pounds. This is enough to keep me on track. This Kauai half is going to be tough but I’m determined to cross the finish line! Until next time, thanks for reading! 🙂

The End...Literally.

The End…Literally.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

