Down to 53!

Whew! We made it through the fourth of July without incident! Boo is still a little skittish when he hears a loud noise. It was mercifully quiet last night. Yay for a good night’s sleep!

The weather has been getting progressively hotter the past couple of weeks. I’m the stereotypical Seattleite who complains about the rain and cold but whines about the heat when it gets above 79. LOL I’m a serious weather wimp. I love summer and sunny days but when I can’t cool down, I whine…incessantly. 😛 I’m sure my dog is not too happy about the heat either. Have I mentioned he’s a nut? He likes to sleep in really goofy positions as evidenced here:

IMG_3523

and here:

Airing out his junk. Again.

Airing out his junk. Again.

After the hiking boot incident on Friday, I googled some reviews and settled on these Scarpa Luna GTX from REI.com:

IMG_3558

This photo makes my size 9 banana feet look small. ❤ How do you like the snazzy pink New Zealand bed socks? Silly, I know. I just wanted thick socks to try with the boots. Anyone else pronounce “New Zealand” in their head with an accent? I did! haha OK, focus! The boots are lightweight, waterproof and sleek. No clompy, heavy sole here. I’m excited to give them a try. My husband and I hope to attempt Annette Lake again soon.

This shouldn’t come as a surprise but I didn’t run yesterday or today. *gasp* I did get to the gym on Sunday morning for a treadmill (dreadmill in my world) run. So incredibly boring! I guess it’s safer than trying to run alone in my neighborhood. Unfortunately, I run a lot slower and am a lot shorter than my husband. We tried to run outdoors together but he has to modify his running form to run my speed. It’s not good running mechanics. LOL I was pretty stoked to get about 4.9 miles under my belt. My workout was 64 minutes total. BLARGH! But I got it done. haha

 

My stats during cool down.

My stats during cool down.

This was after. Sorry about the scary, in-truck photo but this is the “real” me. Yikes.

Flared nostrils. YAY!

Flared nostrils. YAY!

After work, I hustled to a TSA office to sign up for TSA Precheck (I won’t have to take off my shoes at airport security, wheeeee!) and then to GNC to stock up on Quest Protein Bars. They’re currently “buy 2 get 1 free” and I received a $10.00 off coupon in the mail. I’ve been having a bar for breakfast the past few weeks and they keep me filled up until lunch. I’ve lost about 3 pounds in that time, slow and steady. I’ve been snacking less and chewing more gum. haha My goal is to lose the weight at a safe rate which also helps me with running (speed and effort). I grabbed a box of Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough to try out all of the online recipes. I’ve heard they’re AMAZING baked in the oven. NOM I also picked up various other flavors to try.

IMG_3554

Wow, long post is long. Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

