Gallery

Happy 4th of July! 57 days until TKM!

My husband and I tried to revisit our tradition of going for a hike on the 4th of July. We were excited to see how Boo would react to his first time on a trail. After a short and pretty drive, we arrived at the Annette Lake trail head.

I-90 East

I-90 East

Boo was raring to go! So many new smells. LOL The weather was amazing. Sunny but not too hot and the trail was in the shade most of the way. About a quarter mile in, there’s a bridge over a creek where you can enjoy the waterfall. We stopped to take a selfie. I kept cutting off half of my face in the pics but finally got a half decent one. But why do I look so creepy?!? hahaha

Peek-a-boo waterfall

Peek-a-boo waterfall

IMG_3497

My cardio fitness is obviously lacking because I was pressure breathing to try to slow down my thumping heart. Everything was going fine until I started to feel something flopping around under my right boot. I looked down to see this:

What. The. Heezy.

What. The. Heezy.

Umm, yeah… The sole of my boot was consciously uncoupling from the rest of the shoe! :/ It was hanging on by a thread but I had to completely pull it off to prevent tripping on it and breaking my bum. LOL Seriously! Does this kind of stuff happen to anyone else? hahaha Or is it just me? I didn’t have any duct tape or string to MacGyver the boot so we had to turn around. On the way down, my left sole decides it’s not happy either and starts to disintegrate. Really??? Hahaha All I can do at this point is laugh. Hiking back down 1.5 miles with no soles on your shoes is embarrassing AND slippery. As clutzy as I am, I’m surprised I made it back to the car without breaking anything. Guess who gets a new pair of hiking boots? THIS GIRL! 😀

Oh, the carnage.

Oh, the carnage.

Boo seemed to be oblivious to my wardrobe malfunction and was happy as a clam about his new experience. He was well behaved and got to meet a lot of other pups along the trail. We’re going to attempt this trail again, once I have a proper pair of boots. haha I’m so curious to see how Boo reacts to the lake because he’s never seen open water.

Jon and Boo

Jon and Boo

Well, that’s all for now. Just about every neighbor is outside, blowing up stuff so I have to go comfort Boo. He’s OK with firecrackers but someone in my ‘hood is setting off what sounds like half sticks of dynamite. Have a fun and safe 4th!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

